## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

June 10, 2025

The Honorable Doug Collins Secretary U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs 810 Vermont Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20420

Dear Mr. Secretary:

Congratulations on your recent confirmation to serve as our nation's 12<sup>th</sup> Secretary of Veterans Affairs (VA). Many of us appreciated the opportunity to work with you during your tenure in the House of Representatives and look forward to continuing our collaboration as you lead the VA.

We write to express our concerns regarding the VA's continued effort to weaken the standards governing anesthesia care inside the VA health system. A proposed policy change under review in the VA National Standards of Practice would alter the team-based model of care for anesthesia services and move toward a nurse-only model without the clinical oversight of a physician. Such a change poses significant risks to Veteran patient safety and quality of care.<sup>1</sup> We strongly urge the VA to reconsider and reject any action that would undermine or diminish the high standards of anesthesia care our nation's Veterans deserve.

The VA's existing team-based model of care for administering anesthesia is identical to the model used when treating civilians in our nation's leading medical facilities, including the Mayo Clinic, Cleveland Clinic, and Johns Hopkins Hospitals. In fact, there is not a top-ranked civilian hospital that allows nurse-only anesthesia care in surgical or critical care settings. Surveys show that nine in 10 Veterans prefer to receive the same level of care within the VA that they would in any other hospital system.<sup>2</sup> Veterans overwhelmingly prefer physician-led care by a 12-1 margin, and over 71 percent believe that replacing physicians would negatively impact the quality of care received. Providing a standard of anesthesia care to Veterans that is lower than the standard provided to civilians who have never served in uniform is simply unacceptable.

To date, there is no clear rationale for the VA to diminish its current standards. Specifically, no independent patient safety research exists to support altering the VA's well-established policy as outlined in VA Directive 1123.<sup>3</sup> On the contrary, existing data indicates that dismantling the proven physician-led, team-based model of care would result in increased risk of harm to Veterans, particularly to the recently enrolled PACT Act Veterans, a patient population with unique health care needs. PACT Act Veterans require the highest level of medical expertise available, which is best provided through a team-based model that incorporates both physician anesthesiologists and nurses working in tandem.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> VA National Standards of Practice. Listening Session. September 21, 2023, https://www.va.gov/STANDARDSOFPRACTICE/docs/NSP\_ListeningSession5\_Transcript\_508.pdf

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> American Legion National Survey on Veterans' Care Preferences. 18 Sept. 2023. Available <u>HERE</u>.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> VA National Anesthesia Program, 11SPEC - Specialty Care Services VHA Directive 1123(1) Available: <u>HERE</u>

For decades, the VA has upheld deference to state licensure and affirmed the team-based model of care for anesthesia services. Veteran patients have been assured care from highly trained medical professionals with the requisite education and experience to manage complex and highrisk cases. Removing physicians would dilute the quality-of-care Veterans currently receive and fails to meet our nation's moral and legal obligation to care for those who served. This is neither appropriate, safe, nor in the best interests of Veterans. Their care demands the safest, highest quality medical standards available, and the VA is currently well-staffed with physician anesthesiologists to provide this level of care.

Given the lack of justification for changing the VA's standards governing anesthesia care, we strongly urge you to reaffirm the current patient-centered policy, Directive 1123, and reject efforts to move away from the VA's mission of providing the highest quality care to Veterans.

Sincerely,

Gregory F. Murphy, M.D. Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

les M.D

Andy Harris, M.D. Member of Congress

Mariannette J Miller Marks

Mariannette J. Miller-Meeks. M.D. Member of Congress

David Scott Member of Congress

Michael R. Jun

Michael R. Turner Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

olu loyce

John Joyce, M.D. Member of Congress

Mike Kennedy, M.D.

Mike Kennedy, M.D. Member of Congress

Gilbert Ray Cisneros, Jr. Member of Congress

aus suller

Laura A. Gillen Member of Congress

Jun Waque

Ann Wagner / Member of Congress

Joseph D. marelle

Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

Herbert C. Conaway, Jf. Member of Congress

Jonathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

Neal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress

MI

Rich McCormick, MD, MBA Member of Congress

Brian Babin, D.D.S. Member of Congress

r Ester

Ron Estes Member of Congress

Co Robert F. Onder, Jr.

Member of Congress

phanie I. Bice

Stephanie Bice Member of Congress

Burgess Owens Member of Congress

Tim Burchett Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

ance Hooden

Lance Gooden Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

William R Timmons D

William R. Timmons, IV Member of Congress

Laskeda flait

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Mike Ezell Member of Congress

Johnny Oszewski, Jr.

Member of Congress

**&**>5M

Pete Sessions Member of Congress

Claudia Tennen

Claudia Tenney Member of Congress

y d. Danie Oan

Danny K. Navis Member of Congress

linilk

Barry Loudermilk Member of Congress

David Schweikert Member of Congress

Beth Van Duyne

Member of Congress

ulie Johnson

Julie Johnson Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Jasmine Crockett Member of Congress

Henry Cuellar Member of Congress

Austin Scott Member of Congress

Barry Moore Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

Shomari Figures Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Rob Bresnahan, Jr. Member of Congress

Andre Carson Member of Congress

Yvette D. Clarke

Wette D. Clarke Member of Congress

Monica De La Cruz Member of Congress

Mark & Messme

Mark B. Messmer Member of Congress

Brender Sgl

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Mone N. Amores

Mark E. Amodei Member of Congress

itton White

Julia Letlow, Ph.D. Member of Congress

John R. Moolenaar Member of Congress

Wesley

Member of Congress

: 10m

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Jefferson Van Drew Member of Congress

Daniel Webster Member of Congress

Aaron Bean Member of Congress

, Frenz

Randy Feenstra Member of Congress

I V/m

Ralph Norman Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Lucy MCBat

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

María Elvira Salazar Member of Congress

Dan Meuser Member of Congress

Chuck Edwards Member of Congress

art & Hain

Mark Harris Member of Congress

Abraham J. Hamadeh Member of Congress

Morgan Kuttrelt Member of Congress

Richard Hudson Member of Congress

lee

Nancy Mace Member of Congress

Nicole Malliotakis Member of Congress

Andy Barr Member of Congress

Tim Moore Member of Congress

Addison P. McDowell Member of Congress

Brad Knott ' Member of Congress

Michael A. Rulli Member of Congress

David Rouzer Member of Congress

Tule Michael-V. Lawler

Member of Congress

6. Mar

H. Morgan Griffith Member of Congress

And A. J. Randy Fine

Member of Congress

Mart

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress